Crankworx Whistler Returns August 9th – 18th, 2019

The world’s premiere celebration of mountain biking returns to Whistler this August 9th – 18th, 2019. Pros and enthusiasts from around the globe will flock to Whistler for ten action-packed days of mountain biking events, competitions, and demos.

Last year, Crankworx Whistler attracted more than 300,000 spectators, with 35,000 viewing the Red Bull Joyride alone. Crankworx has the largest economic impact of all major events in Whistler and is commonly considered the top event of the year.

Why are Crankworx and Whistler such a natural fit, and what can you expect at this year’s festival?

Tourism Whistler / Mike Crane

Whistler: A Mountain Biking Mecca

Whistler is a renowned mountain bike destination with deep roots in the sport’s history and the best mountain bike park on the planet.

This made Whistler a natural location for the inaugural Crankworx celebration in 2003, known then as the “Whistler Summer Gravity Fest” (the name changed to Crankworx the following year).

Crankworx went international in 2007 and, over the next decade, evolved into the “Superbowl of mountain biking”, every year returning to Whistler for the grande finale. As it’s written on crankworx.com, “Whistler is where it all began, where careers take flight and where the season culminates in a raucous showdown of gravity-mountain biking’s finest riding.”

Crankworx Whistler is where the sport’s most coveted titles are awarded: The King and Queen of the Crankworx World Tour and the Triple Crown of Slopestyle.

Posted by Crankworx on Thursday, July 4, 2019

Crankworx Whistler 2019 – Popular Events

Deep Summer Photo Challenge

Tuesday, August 13th – Six photographers face off with their best photos from the opening weekend of Crankworx, compiled into a slideshow and displayed on the big screen at Whistler Olympic Plaza.

Dirt Diaries

Wednesday, August 14th – Another multimedia showdown, this time featuring filmmakers going head to head with their best four to six-minute mountain biking videos, displayed for your viewing pleasure at Whistler’s Olympic Plaza.

Red Bull Joyride

Saturday, August 17th – The “biggest stage in the sport,” Red Bull Joyride is the finale and defining event of the Crankworx Slopestyle World Championship. The 14 best riders in the world throw down their best two runs in the “Boneyard,” a high-flying custom course at the base of the Whistler Mountain Bike Park.

Dirt Diaries, Crankworx 2016. Photo by Justa Jeskova.

Crankworx Whistler 2019 – Webcast Schedule

100% Dual Slalom

Wednesday August 14th 5:00 pm PDT
Thursday August 15th 12:00 pm NZST
Thursday August 15th 2:00 am CEST

RockShox Ultimate Pumptrack Challenge

Thursday August 15th 8:00 pm PDT
Friday August 16th 3:00 pm NZST
Friday August 16th 5:00 am CEST

Clif Speed & Style

Friday August 16th 6:00 pm PDT
Saturday August 17th 1:00 pm NZST
Saturday August 17th 3:00 am CEST

Red Bull Joyride

Saturday August 17th 4:30 pm PDT
Sunday August 18th 11:30 am NZST
Sunday August 18th 1:30 am CEST

Canadian Open DH presented by iXS

Sunday August 18th 2:00 pm PDT
Monday August 19th 9:00 am NZST
Sunday August 18th 11:00 pm CEST

Tourism Whistler / Mike Crane

Crankworx Whistler 2019 – Tickets

All of the Crankworx Whistler events are free for spectators, however VIP tickets are available for some events. Click here to learn more.

 

Leave a Reply